This page addresses key areas of interest regarding Vermont unclaimed property and escheatment laws and regulations.
Key Vermont Unclaimed Property Reporting Deadlines
Vermont has a spring deadline for annual reporting and remittance. Holders of unclaimed property must report and remit by April 30th. Early reporting is permitted with the prior written consent of the administrator.
Negative reports are not required but are encouraged. The negative report should be signed by an authorized officer of the reporting company and must be notarized. Negative reports are to be submitted separately.
All holders have an obligation to report abandoned or unclaimed property to the state in order to maintain compliance with Vermont’s unclaimed property laws and regulations. Holders reporting to Vermont are required to submit their reports electronically if the report contains more than 10 properties. Written or electronic reports may be submitted for 10 or less properties.
Vermont Due Diligence Requirements
Vermont requires holders to send due diligence notifications for any property with a value of $50 or more. Due diligence letters must be sent each reporting cycle, no more than 120 days and no less than 60 days prior to filing the report.
Each due diligence notice should inform the owner that the holder is in possession of unclaimed property that will be turned over to the state unless the owner claims it from the holder before the report is filed.
Vermont Voluntary Compliance Program
Vermont offers holders with past-due property a way to come into compliance with its Voluntary Compliance Program. The VC program affords eligible holders an opportunity to come into compliance with state law without incurring penalties and interest.
In order to be eligible for the program, holders must not currently be under examination or audit, nor have been contacted by the state or by any of the state’s third-party auditors of their intent to conduct an examination or audit.
Vermont Dormancy Periods
Dormancy periods in Vermont vary by property types. Generally, most property types have a 3-year dormancy period. Accounts are considered dormant if the owner of a property has not indicated any interest in the property or if no contact has been made for the allotted dormancy period for that property. Dormancy periods in Vermont for other common property types include:
- Wages, Payroll or Salary: 1 year
- Money Orders(Non-Bank): 7 years
What Are the Holes in Your Unclaimed Property Process?
Answer 8 questions to understand your level of unclaimed property risk in as little as 30 secondsWhat's My Risk?
Vermont’s Unclaimed Property Links
Key Unclaimed Property Reporting FAQs
The unclaimed property reporting process can be challenging for holders in Vermont. Does your organization have questions about state unclaimed property laws and requirements? Click on the link below for frequently asked questions regarding unclaimed property reporting and compliance.
Confused or Overwhelmed? Need Answers?
Reporting unclaimed property in Vermont and other jurisdictions can be a stressful process that consumes valuable internal resources. However, when properly managed, the annual reporting and escheatment process does not need to be a burdensome experience.
Contact Keane for assistance in guiding your organization on the path to unclaimed property compliance, or visit our resource library for additional educational and operational resources.