This page addresses key areas of interest regarding Utah unclaimed property and escheatment laws and regulations.
Key Utah Unclaimed Property Reporting Deadlines
Utah, like many states, has a fall deadline for annual reporting and remittance. Holders of unclaimed property must report and remit by prior to November 1st of each year.
Requests for early reporting must be made in writing and include the reason for reporting early. Negative reports are not currently required.
All holders have an obligation to report abandoned or unclaimed property to the state in order to maintain compliance with Utah’s unclaimed property laws and regulations.
Holders reporting to Utah are required to submit their reports electronically via the state’s website in the accepted NAUPA format. Paper reports are no longer accepted.
Utah Due Diligence Requirements
Utah requires holders to send due diligence notifications for any property with a value of $50 or more.
Holders must send due diligence letters each reporting cycle to the apparent owner at the last known address, not more than 180 days and not less than 60 days prior to the filing due date.
This notice should inform the owner that the holder is in possession of unclaimed property that will be turned over to the state unless the owner claims it from the holder before the report is filed.
Utah Dormancy Periods
Dormancy periods in Utah vary by property type. Generally, most property types have a 3 year dormancy period. Accounts are considered dormant if the owner of a property has not indicated any interest in the property or if no contact has been made for the allotted dormancy period for that property. Dormancy periods in Utah for common property types include:
- Wages, Payroll or Salary: 1 year
- Safety Deposit Box Contents: 5 years
- Money Orders: 7 years
Utah Unclaimed Property Links
What Are the Holes in Your Unclaimed Property Process?
Answer 8 questions to understand your level of unclaimed property risk in as little as 30 secondsWhat's My Risk?
Key Unclaimed Property Reporting FAQs
The unclaimed property reporting process can be challenging for holders in Utah and other states. Does your organization have questions about state unclaimed property laws and requirements? Click on the link below for frequently asked questions regarding unclaimed property reporting and compliance.
Confused or Overwhelmed? Need Answers?
Reporting unclaimed property in Utah and other jurisdictions can be a stressful process that consumes valuable internal resources. However, when properly managed, the annual reporting and escheatment process does not need to be a burdensome experience.
Contact Keane for assistance in guiding your organization on the path to unclaimed property compliance, or visit our resource library for additional educational and operational resources.