This page addresses key areas of interest regarding New Hampshire unclaimed property and escheatment laws and regulations.
Key New Hampshire Unclaimed Property Reporting Deadlines
New Hampshire has a fall deadline for annual reporting and remittance. Holders of unclaimed property must report and remit by October 31st, except for all insurance companies, which must report by April 30th. Early reporting is permitted with the prior written approval of the administrator. Negative reports are not required but are encouraged.
Holders must submit written requests for extension prior to the filing deadline and include the reason for the extension and amount of time requested.
All holders have an obligation to report abandoned or unclaimed property to the state in order to maintain compliance with New Hampshire’s unclaimed property laws and regulations. Electronic filing is required for all reports that contain 20 or more records.
New Hampshire Due Diligence Requirements
New Hampshire requires holders to send due diligence notifications for any property with a value of $50 or more. Holders must send due diligence letters each reporting cycle to the apparent owner at the last known address not more than 120 days prior to filing the report.
This notice should inform the owner of the nature of the property and how to recover it. It should also inform the owner that the property will be turned over to the state unless the owner claims it from the holder before the report is filed.
New Hampshire Dormancy Periods
Dormancy periods in New Hampshire vary by property type. Generally, most property types have a 5 year dormancy period. Accounts are considered dormant if the owner of a property has not indicated any interest in the property or if no owner generated contact has been made for the allotted dormancy period for that property.
Dormancy periods in New Hampshire for some common property types include:
- Wages, Payroll or Salary: 1 year
- Checking Accounts: 5 years
- Money orders: 7 years
New Hampshire Unclaimed Property Links
What Are the Holes in Your Unclaimed Property Process?
Answer 8 questions to understand your level of unclaimed property risk in as little as 30 secondsWhat's My Risk?
Key Unclaimed Property Reporting FAQs
The unclaimed property reporting process can be challenging for holders in New Hampshire and other states. Does your organization have questions about state unclaimed property laws and requirements? Click on the link below for frequently asked questions regarding unclaimed property reporting and compliance.
Confused or Overwhelmed? Need Answers?
Reporting unclaimed property in New Hampshire and other jurisdictions can be a stressful process that consumes valuable internal resources. However, when properly managed, the annual reporting and escheatment process does not need to be a burdensome experience.
Contact Keane for assistance in guiding your organization on the path to unclaimed property compliance, or visit our resource library for additional educational and operational resources.