This page addresses key areas of interest regarding Kansas unclaimed property and escheatment laws and regulations.
Key Kansas Unclaimed Property Reporting Deadlines
Kansas has a fall deadline for annual reporting and remittance. Holders of unclaimed property must report and remit by October 31st, except life insurance companies who must report by April 30th. Early reporting is permitted with prior written approval from the administrator provided due diligence has first been performed.
Negative reports are not required; but properties under $100 need to be accumulated, if not reported until their total reaches $250, and then they must all be reported.
All holders have an obligation to report abandoned or unclaimed property to the state to maintain compliance with Kansas’ unclaimed property laws and regulations. Holders reporting to Kansas are required to submit their reports electronically if the reports contain more than 10 items. Written reports on forms provided by the state are permitted for 10 or fewer items.
Kansas Due Diligence Requirements
Kansas requires holders to send due diligence notifications for any property with a value of $100 or more (except for property in a dividend reinvestment plan or safe deposit box property, for which notice must be sent regardless of value).
Holders must send due diligence letters each reporting cycle to the apparent owner at the last known address. This notice should be sent at least 60 days and no more than 120 days prior to filing the report.
The due diligence letter should inform the owner that the holder is in possession of property that has been deemed abandoned and will be turned over to the state unless the owner claims it from the holder before the report is filed.
Kansas Dormancy Periods
Dormancy periods in Kansas vary by property type. Generally, most property types have a 5-year dormancy period. Accounts are considered dormant if the owner of a property has not indicated any interest in the property or if no contact has been made during the allotted dormancy period for that property.
Dormancy periods in Kansas for some common property types include:
- Wages, Payroll or Salary: 1 year
- Money orders: 7 years
Kansas Unclaimed Property Links
What Are the Holes in Your Unclaimed Property Process?
Answer 8 questions to understand your level of unclaimed property risk in as little as 30 secondsWhat's My Risk?
Key Unclaimed Property Reporting FAQs
The unclaimed property reporting process can be challenging for holders in Kansas and other states. Does your organization have questions about state unclaimed property laws and requirements? Click on the link below for frequently asked questions regarding unclaimed property reporting and compliance.
Confused or Overwhelmed? Need Answers?
Reporting unclaimed property in Kansas and other jurisdictions can be a stressful process that consumes valuable internal resources. However, when properly managed, the annual reporting and escheatment process does not need to be a burdensome experience.
Contact Keane for assistance in guiding your organization on the path to unclaimed property compliance, or visit our resource library for additional educational and operational resources.