This page addresses key areas of interest regarding Arkansas unclaimed property and escheatment laws and regulations.
Key Arkansas Unclaimed Property Reporting Deadlines
Arkansas, like many states, has a fall deadline for annual reporting and remittance. Holders of unclaimed property must report and remit by October 31st, except for life insurance companies who must report and remit by April 30th. Early reporting is permitted with written consent from the administrator. Negative reports are not required, but the state requires a negative report for holders who have had property to report in the last three years.
All holders have an obligation to report abandoned or unclaimed property to the state in order to maintain compliance with Arkansas’ unclaimed property laws and regulations. Holders reporting to Arkansas are required to submit their reports electronically where they contain 25 or more properties.
Arkansas Due Diligence Requirements
Arkansas requires holders to send due diligence notifications for any property with a value of $50 or more.
Holders must send due diligence letters each reporting cycle to the apparent owner at the last known address not more than 180 days or less than 90 days prior to filing the report. This notice should inform the owner that the holder is in possession of unclaimed property that will be turned over to the state unless the owner claims it from the holder before the report is filed.
Arkansas Dormancy Periods
Dormancy periods in Arkansas vary by property type. Generally, most property types have a 3 year dormancy period. Accounts are considered dormant if the owner of a property has not indicated any interest in the property or if no contact has been made for the allotted dormancy period for that property.
Dormancy periods in Arkansas for common property types include:
- Wages, Payroll or Salary: 1 year
- Safety Deposit Box Contents: 5 years
- Money Orders: 7 years
Arkansas’ Unclaimed Property Links
What Are the Holes in Your Unclaimed Property Process?
Answer 8 questions to understand your level of unclaimed property risk in as little as 30 secondsWhat's My Risk?
Key Unclaimed Property Reporting FAQs
The unclaimed property reporting process can be challenging for holders in Arkansas and other states. Does your organization have questions about state unclaimed property laws and requirements? Click on the link below for frequently asked questions regarding unclaimed property reporting and compliance.
Confused or Overwhelmed? Need Answers?
Reporting unclaimed property in Arkansas and other jurisdictions can be a stressful process that consumes valuable internal resources. However, when properly managed, the annual reporting and escheatment process does not need to be a burdensome experience.
Contact Keane for assistance in guiding your organization on the path to unclaimed property compliance, or visit our resource library for additional educational and operational resources.