Keane's Unclaimed Property Blog

Michigan HB 6421 – Signed into Law by the Governor – Reduces Unclaimed Property Dormancy Periods

Michigan’s new reporting bill, HB 6421 – introduced on September 8th, was signed into law by the Governor on October 5, 2010.  The details are summarized below:

  • General dormancy period from 5 to 3 years.
  • Money orders from 7 years to 3 years.
  • Any sum payable on a check, draft, or similar instrument from 5 years to 3 years.
  • Demand, savings, matured time deposits including any automatically renewable deposits, from 5 to 3 years.
  • Trust accounts and accounts under the Gifts to Minors Act, from 15 years to 3 years.
  • Funds owed under any life or endowment insurance policy, from 5 to 3 years.
  • Gift Cards, from 5 years to 3 years.

The bill also changes the filing deadline for unclaimed property reports.  Starting in 2011, the report shall be filed on or before July 1 for the 9-month period ending on March 31, 2011.  For years ending after December 31, 2011, the report shall be filed on or before July 1 of each year for the 12-month period ending on the immediately preceding March 31.

Go from Michigan Unclaimed Property Law Dormancy Period back to the blog

Go to the Keane HOMEPAGE


Abandoned Property, Abandoned Property Law, Compliance, Dormancy Periods, Gift Card Escheatment, Legislative Alerts, Money Orders, State Escheatment, Unclaimed Property, Unclaimed Property Law, Unclaimed Property Reporting


I'm looking for information on...