Compliance (251 articles)
Most state estimates suggest that only 15 to 35 percent of companies are in full compliance with unclaimed property laws, and even those who are in compliance technically may be underreporting because they aren’t correctly interpreting what the law requires. Here you will find best practices and articles to help you comply with unclaimed property rules and regulations.
On October 1, 2017, the Delaware Department of Finance released the final unclaimed property reporting and examination regulations, effective October 11, 2017, with final regulations not differing from those proposed in August. Select holders currently under audit will have 60 days to convert their audit into a VDA or the expedited audit process.
Keane has received notification from the Delaware Secretary of State’s office that in 2 weeks it will be mailing notices to holders whom it believes to be non-compliant with Delaware escheat law. Holders will have 60 days from mail date to enroll in the SOS VDA program or risk referral to State Escheator for examination. Below is the full text of the notification.
Life insurance companies in New Jersey are now required to comply with new beneficiary location regulations with the passage of AB 2511. The bill, effective on March 1, 2018, requires insurers to use the federal Death Master File (DMF) when identifying potential matches of insureds or account holders to confirm death and locate beneficiaries.